CS371P Spring 2021: Week 3

aditiawe1312
2 min readFeb 8, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week, I started working on the Collatz project. I’m currently working on optimizing my initial solution.

What’s in your way?

My lack of motivation is in my way. I should have started the Collatz project earlier than I did so that I would have more time this weekend to spend on other things but I started it pretty late because I had no motivation to begin.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I will finish up the Collatz project, attend lectures, and finish the paper and blog for the week.

If you read it, what did you think of the Continuous Integration?

I thought it was a very informative paper and it explained the importance of continuous integration really well! We used continuous integration at my previous internship and it made it very easy for a lot of developers to work on the same code base at the same time. I agree with all the benefits of continuous integration that were listed in the article.

What was your experience of Collatz? (this question will vary, week to week)

So far, my experience has been alright. I started the project pretty recently so I haven’t been able to complete it yet, however I was able to fix the test cases and get the simplest solution to work. The next step is to optimize my solution.

What was your experience of exceptions? (this question will vary, week to week)

I have not had any experience with exceptions this week other than what we covered in lecture.

What made you happy this week?

I threw a surprise party with my roommates this week, and that made me happy!

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to make a list of things you have to do in the upcoming week and then plan when you should start them and finish them so that you aren’t behind or overwhelmed with tasks in the future. Essentially, work on managing your time, because that is a crucial skill, especially in software development, where you can’t tell for sure how long a project might take, especially if you run into a difficult bug.

--

--