CS 371P Spring 2021: Week 8

aditiawe1312
2 min readMar 29, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week, I finished up the Allocator project with my partner in addition to attending lectures and learning the material from class.

What’s in your way?

Right now, my lack of motivation is in the way but I’m trying to keep working hard. There’s only about a month of school left so I’m just trying to keep pushing.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I have an exam for Algorithms so I’m going to study for that. I’m also hoping to start the Darwin assignment for this class next week.

If you read it, what did you think of the Interface Segregation Principle?

I think the Interface Segregation Principle brought up some very valid points about why interfaces that don’t need to be tied together should be kept separate. One of the things the paper brought up that really got me to agree with them was that if Interface A didn’t need to be dependent on Interface B, but was dependent on it, if Interface A had bugs, those bugs would affect Interface B even though Interface B has nothing to do with A logically. And why would we want that? When I thought about it that way, I understood the importance of the Interface Segregation Principle.

What was your experience of initializations, and vector? (this question will vary, week to week)

I think my experience with them was fine. I had a hard time understanding them initially during lecture because it went kind of fast, but when I went and reviewed the notes, I understood it a lot better.

What made you happy this week?

One of my CS Org members that I didn’t know that well reached out to me to show support for me and my opinions and we ended up chatting for a little bit afterward and it felt very nice!

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is to express your love for a CS major in the following way:

for (int love= 0; love ≤ infinity; love++){

System.out.println(“I love you very, very much!!”);

}

--

--